From early in his career, writer-producer Ryan Murphy has always made it a point to use his platform to speak openly about pressing LGBTQ issues. Now, the Pose creator is being recognized for his contributions.

On Thursday (Jan. 16), GLAAD announced that Murphy would be the recipient of the Vito Russo Award at the 31st GLAAD Media Awards in New York City. The award, named after GLAAD founder and ACT UP activist Vito Russo, is given to an LGBTQ media professional who “has made a significant difference in accelerating LGBTQ acceptance” and has been awarded in years past to Billy Porter, Ricky Martin, RuPaul, Anderson Cooper and many others. 

In a statement released alongside Murphy’s announcement, GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis said the American Horror Story showrunner serves as an example to what true queer inclusion can look like in media. “Ryan Murphy is a talented trailblazer behind some of the most innovative and popular LGBTQ projects in television, theater and film history, and he continues to bring underrepresented LGBTQ voices to the table in ways that raise the bar in Hollywood,” she said. “Ryan’s unique and gifted brand of storytelling has not only entertained the masses, but provided LGBTQ youth with characters who inspire them to live boldly and proudly.”

This is not the only GLAAD Media Award that Murphy will be up for in 2020. Along with receiving the esteemed prize, Murphy’s television projects, Pose and The Politician, are both nominated for outstanding drama series at this year’s ceremony. Murphy will be joining previously announced honorees Taylor Swift (Vanguard Award) and Janet Mock (Stephen F. Kolzak Award), who will be receiving their honors at the organization’s Los Angeles ceremony on April 16.

The 31st GLAAD Media Awards will take place at the Hilton Midtown in New York on Thursday, March 19.